top of page

Chapter History

In the Spring of 2015, Renita Alexander, Joyce Holland-Ray, Marina McCulley-Boyd, and Theresa Young-Jackson began meeting to discuss the possibility of chartering a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. in Calvert County, Maryland. Calvert County, Maryland is considered a rural locale, and the sorors believed that the presence of their illustrious Sorority would greatly benefit the area. In October 2015, the first soror social was held, and Andristine Robinson joined the core planning group. Soror socials were held monthly to foster sisterly relations and to connect with sorors in the area.

At the December 2015 social, the group decided to name themselves The Pearls of Calvert County. Soon after that, the core planning group met to prepare the application to seek approval to become an official interest group of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. The application was submitted in January 2016. On March 10, 2016, the Pearls of Calvert County received a letter from the North Atlantic Regional Director, Soror Meredith L. Henderson, stating that the group was approved as an interest group by the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated Directorate. The interest group had 15 members.

The Pearls of Calvert County held their first official meeting on April 24, 2016 at the Northeast Community Center in Chesapeake Beach, Maryland. At the first meeting, the officers were elected, and the focus of the interest group was established. This included supporting the comprehensive plan of Calvert County to maintain and/or improve the overall quality of life for all citizens of the county. The Pearls of Calvert County provided service for youth, adults, families, and seniors through the implementation of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority International Program

On Saturday, April 22, 2017, under the leadership of North Atlantic Regional Director, Meredith L. Henderson, Omega Pi Omega Chapter was chartered in Calvert County, Maryland with 25 charter members.

Charter Members


Front Row: Joyce Holland-Ray, Marlene LaMar, Theresa Young Jackson, Meredith L. Henderson (Regional Director), Andristine M. Robinson, Sharon Parran, Deborah Wilson. Middle Row: Phyllis L. Gillens, Andrea Hawthorne-Garcia, Renita Alexander, Renata Thompson, Cynthia Clinton-Brown, Marina McCulley-Boyd, Gia Grady, Pamelia K. Moore, Felicia Blake, Sadiqa Robinson. Back Row: Fatina LaMar-Taylor, Edith Augustson, Valerie Miller, Cassandra Okwumabua, Sonia Ellisor Johnson, Tia Nobles, Jacqueline Hill, Alisha Flachs, Katrina Martin.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page